Solomita Law, PLLC
Solomita Law, PLLC
  • 12001 Research Parkway
    Suite 236
    Orlando, FL 32826
  • Get a Fresh Start. Call

    (407) 305-5599

Filing For Divorce In The State Of Florida

Filing For Divorce In The State Of Florida Lawyer, Orlando CityThe following article will cover:

  • The two methods you can choose from to file for divorce in Orlando, Florida.
  • The legal grounds for divorce in Florida, and whether there is a waiting period to complete the divorce process.
  • What you should do if you receive divorce papers in Orange County, Florida.

How Do I File For Divorce In Orlando, Florida?

Divorce can be an incredibly stressful and emotionally painful process. If you’re considering filing for divorce, you might be wondering what steps you should take to start the process.

To file for divorce in Orlando, Florida, you can either:

  1. Hire an attorney who will handle the filing process for you; or
  2. Visit the courthouse, obtain the necessary paperwork, and file for divorce yourself.

There are no special prerequisites required to initiate the process. The method you choose should depend on your comfort level with filing on your own, as well as how complex your divorce might be.

What Are The Grounds For Divorce In Florida?

In Florida, the grounds for divorce are based on the concept of irreconcilable differences, or that the marriage is irretrievably broken. Florida is a no-fault divorce state, meaning that specific reasons, such as violence or infidelity, are not required for filing a divorce.

What Should I Do If My Spouse Served Me With Divorce Papers In Orange County, Florida?

If you have been served with divorce papers in Orange County, Florida, you should:

  1. Contact an attorney
  2. Review the paperwork with the attorney
  3. Determine if there are any points you disagree with
  4. If necessary, retain an attorney and proceed with the divorce process

Your attorney can walk you through the divorce process and help you understand what you should do at each step.

Is There A Waiting Period For Divorce In Florida?

In Florida, there is a minimum waiting period of 20 days after filing and submitting all paperwork. After the 20-day waiting period, you can move for the final judgment in a divorce. This waiting period may vary by county.

Can I Get Divorced Within A Month In Florida?

In some cases, it is possible to complete a divorce within a month, depending on the efficiency of the judge, attorneys, and involved parties. The quickest divorces may be completed in as little as two weeks, but typically, a fast divorce takes about a month to six weeks. However, contested divorces may take much longer, even years, depending on the level of disagreement and the issues being contested.

For more information on Filing For Divorce In The State Of Florida, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (407) 305-5599 today.

Alec Solomita, Esq.

Get a Fresh Start. Call
(407) 305-5599

Accessibility Accessibility
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U